o2 April 2006

 

“Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor male prostitutes, nor homosexual offenders; nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor slanderers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.” 1 Corinthians 6: 9-10 (NIV).

I was recently surfing through some “Black” blogs and came upon the blog page of Herndon Davis. Scanning the “Header” it caught my attention that he was the creator of a website called “Black, Gay and Christian” (now defunct). To be honest I never seriously contemplated the issue of gay Christians, although I am somewhat aware of the conflicts within the Anglican and Episcopal Church on the issue of gay ministers. As a born-again Christian it has always been my belief that homosexuality is a sin, those who claim to be gay are engaging in sinful behaviour and so-called “gay Christians” have been blinded and deluded by Satan.  However, due to my curiosity and wanting to at least be informed to what Mr. Davis’s beliefs and/or justifications were, I made my way to his website. You see: Black I understand. Gay I understand. Christian I understand. Black and Gay I understand. Black and Christian I understand. Gay and Christian… well that I didn’t understand and I certainly had no clue what to think of someone claiming to be Black, Gay and Christian! 

I found the site (at the time) to be primarily geared towards promoting a book that he had written by the same name (click on the above image). As I made my way through the various sections of the site, my interest in his beliefs grew. He boldly states what I would categorize as a Christian fundamentalist belief in God, Christ and the Bible, but then claims: “This book also views that there is no inherent “sin” in homosexual orientation or the expressions of genuine same-gender love as scripture is correctly interpreted within the original Hebrew and Greek language, the proper cultural context and timeframe that it was inspired by God and recorded by man.” Now I really had no clue on how he could justify this statement  and I wasn’t that committed to buying his book to find out. One of the “links” on the site was to christiangays.com , which seemed to offer some biblical/scriptural explanations for the legitimacy of pro-gay Christian theology… so there I went.

From what I could gather, some of the main themes of this pro-gay theology is that: the homosexual nature is created by God, just like the heterosexual nature, since we are all created in God’s image; the Bible is silent on homosexual sex and does not condemn all same gender sex; it is unnatural and therefore a sin for a heterosexuals to have sexual relations with someone of the same gender, while it was permissible by God if that is your natural sexual orientation; the sin of Sodom was not homosexuality but idolatry; one has to take into account the era, influences, knowledge (and lack thereof), and other cultural, societal and religious frames of references of the writers of the Bible, to understand their verses on same gender sex; and most important, during the translation of the Bible from Hebrew, Aramaic or Greek into English, certain words and meanings of passages were misinterpreted due to the beliefs and prejudices of the translators at the time. Therefore the “six clobber verses” in the Bible used to condemn homosexual behaviour were not valid, as they are based on error in human understanding and not God’s true/original message…. huh…..

I must admit that as I read through the various sections on christiangays.com, I started to question somewhat the validity of the basis of my beliefs in regards to homosexuality as sin. I am aware of how the Bible was used to justify the slavery of Africans and the oppression of women, both of which were referenced by different contributors on the site. I am also one who feels that it is by the grace of God that I was born in a society, culture and family that believed and practiced Christianity. I could have easily been born into a society, culture and family where another religion or no religion was the norm. Therefore I could have been a Muslim, Hindi, Buddhist or even an Atheist. So yes, I am cognizant of the fact that environmental factors are vital in shaping our beliefs, values and the way we see the world.

As I continued my research, I also visited a website for a Christian based organization that caters to supporting Christian “ex-homosexuals” called “Another Way Out“. One of their stated missions is “to challenge born-again Christians who claim that God condones homosexuality for those within the true Church (those who have been born of the Spirit). While the Bible gives no instructions concerning sexuality to the unsaved, those within the redeemed community are clearly commanded against homosexual practice (1 Cor. 6:9-11).” There is a section on the site called “Responding to Pro-Gay Theology” which discusses the pro-gay arguments in regards to biblical scriptures and the “six clobber verses”.

Now…what are my conclusions? Well I do have more questions than answers, but I am still of the belief that homosexuality is a sin, based on my understanding of biblical teachings. However, the Bible teaches that the God I serve is a God of love and judgment, and I am further reminded that the Bible also teaches me that:

  1. Luke 6: 37: Judge not, and ye shall not be judged: condemn not, and ye shall not be condemned;
  2. Romans 3: 23: For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;
  3. James 1: 5: If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.

A friend of mine and I were discussing this issue. Her best friend is an openly gay, born again Christian man, who is also a Deacon at the local gay church. She commented on how he is so committed and sincere in his walk with Christ, he is a dedicated community advocate and a true friend to her. She stated that if he died and awoke in hell, then he would know that in regards to his lifestyle, he had been mistaken in his beliefs. But that is between him and God.

Asa.

