A couple weeks ago when former NBA player John Amaechi “came out” and stated that he was gay, I thought to myself: “so what?”…. “what’s the big deal?” For me it was a non-event. I saw it as a second rate player who was trying to promote his book, “Man in the Middle”, so he could get paid. Whoever someone loves is a private affair, between him or her and the other person…. and their God (if they believe in one). I couldn’t have been more wrong! In light of another former NBA player, Tim Hardaway’s comments, I felt I needed to do a post. The part of Hardaway’s comments that I found so troubling… and I would even go as far as to characterize it as disgusting were: 

“You know, I hate gay people, so I let it be known. I don’t like gay people and I don’t like to be around gay people. I am homophobic. I don’t like it. It shouldn’t be in the world or in the United States.” 

TIM, YOU HATE GAY PEOPLE!?

                   

Now I am a born-again Christian and as you may guess, I have some very definitive and strong views about homosexuality and homosexuals. The first is this: Christ died on the cross for heterosexuals, as well as for homosexuals. “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” Yes I consider homosexuality to be a sin and God hates sin, but NOT the sinner. 

 

“The world can be a terrible place, NOT because of the evil that people do, but because of those who stand by, watch, and do nothing….” 

 

I am not sure who made the above quote, but silence in the face of such comments by Tim Hardaway is unacceptable for me. It made me angry. It is not so much that it is narrow-minded and ignorant, but that it is simply hate speech! It’s a promotion of hate! Hating someone or a group of people simply because of their race, religion, culture, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation/preference etc., comes from the realm of the spiritually evil. History has also shown, that once you are allowed, in the face of no opposition, to demonize a group of people who are different from you, you feel empowered, justified… and yes even permitted by those who are silent, to mistreat, oppress and kill those “others”. 

 

Tim Hardaway does not have my permission. 

 

Tim Hardaway has been banned by the NBA from taking part in their All-Star Weekend events. 

 

Tim Hardaway has subsequently apologized for his comments. 

 

Asabagna